The President of India become the head of state and the Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Armed Forces and known as the first citizen of India. The President of India is called as Rashtrapati in Hindi and lord of the realm in Sanskrit language. The election of presidential post takes place by the Electoral College having elected members of the parliament houses, Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha as well as members of Vidhan Sabha and state legislative assemblies.

Since the independence of India, around 14 presidential elections have been done for which 13 persons have been the President of India and three acting presidents in between the terms for short periods of time. The President is selected to serve the country for a tenure of five years by the article 56, part V, of the Indian constitution. The office is assumed by the vice president in case if president is terminated or absent because of any reason. The parliament has rights to discharge president’s functions by article 70 of part V.

In order to win the president’s election, a candidate must be of 35 years or above, qualified for election to Lok Sabha and not be a member of parliament or state assembly. He/she should not hold any office of profit. Vice Presidents, Governors of State, Ministers of the Union and Ministers of the State can stand for presidential election after resigning that office. Below is the list of all the Presidents of India (after independence of India till date) with their important details:


Office Term: 25 July 2017 to Incumbent

Political Party: Bharatiya Janata Party

Ram Nath Kovind is the current president of India. He took charge as the 15th President of India (however 14th person) on 25 July 2017. Before get elected as the president of India, he served as the Governor of Bihar from 2015 to 2017. He was a Member of Parliament from 1994 to 2006. He won the Presidential election as the official nominee by the NDA coalition and became second Dalit to be elected as President of India. He served as a lawyer for 16 years (practiced in Delhi High Court and Supreme Court) before entering into the politics.

He joined BJP in 1991 and served as the President of BJP Dalit Morcha (from 1998 to 2002) and national spokesperson of the party. He was also the President of All-India Koli Samaj. His ancestral home in Derapur was donated by him to the RSS.

He was born in a Dalit weaving community on 1st of October in 1945, Paraukh village, Kanpur Dehat district, Uttar Pradesh. He did his bachelor’s degree in commerce and LLB from DAV College (affiliated with Kanpur University). He became advocate in 1971 and then Central Government Advocate in Delhi High Court from 1977 to 1979. He served as PA of Prime Minister of India (Morarji Desai) from 1977 to 1978. Later he served as an advocate-on-record in Supreme Court of India from 1980 to 1993.


Political Party: Indian National Congress

Dr. Rajendra Prasad (from Bihar) became the first President of independent India after his struggling career as a freedom fighter of the Indian independence movement. He also became the only president of India who had served the country for two terms (from 26th of January 1950 to 12th of May 1962, for two consecutive terms, we can say first and second president of India) as an Indian president. He took the charge as an Indian president of Independent and Republic India on 26th of January in 1950 after getting selected by the Committee of Indian Constitution. During the third Presidential election (1962) he himself expressed his decision to get relief from public life by declining the offer of continuing the post of Indian president.

He was born on 3rd of December in 1884 (in a Kayastha Hindu family in Ziradei, Bengal Presidency, British India, now in Bihar) and died on 28th of February in 1963 (Patna, Bihar, India). His father was (Mahadev Sahai) a scholar of Sanskrit and Persian languages. He did his M.A. Degree in Economics in first division from the University of Calcutta in 1907. He helped a lot in the formation of Bihari Students Conference in 1906 in Patna College. He became a teacher, a lawyer, and then entered to the politics. He encouraged the educational development all through the country and advised for the same to the Nehru government on several occasions.

Post a Comment